add event
  • Home
  • YOUNG GALAXY + SUMif at Popscene/Rickshaw Stop

YOUNG GALAXY + SUMif at Popscene/Rickshaw Stop

April 7, 2018
9:00 pm
Rickshaw Stop

​Canadian indie faves YOUNG GALAXY make their first SF apprerance in years at this very special Saturday night Popscene party at Rickshaw Stop Just added SUMif! DJ Aaron Axelsen shall be droppin' indie tunes all nite, too 9PM DOORS. 18+ WELCOME YOUNG GALAXY // BIOGRAPHY Young Galaxy formed in Montreal as a duo including Stephen Ramsay and Catherine McCandless. Through that summer of 2005 and the spring of 2006 they recorded with appearances and contributions of friends at Jace Lasek’s Breakglass Studio. Their sound has been described as similar to the bands Slowdive, Galaxie 500 and Luna as well as Pink Floyd and Spiritualized. The band has toured in Canada, The United States and Europe, opening for Arcade Fire, Peter, Bjorn and John, Stars and Death Cab For Cutie. They later moved to Montreal, where they recorded their self-titled debut. The album was released April 24, 2007 on Arts & Crafts. They recorded their second album Invisible Republic in Montreal at Hotel2Tango studio with Radwan Moumneh engineering (A Silver Mt. Zion, Pas Chic Chic) and at Breakglass Studios with Jace Lasek of The Besnard Lakes engineering. Invisible Republic was released independently on August 25, 2009. It was mixed by Tony Doogan (Mogwai, Belle & Sebastian, Snow Patrol) in Glasgow, Scotland. It was subsequently released in July 2010 in the US by Paper Bag Records, and received a long list nomination for the 2010 Polaris Music Prize. The band followed up in fall 2010 with YG No Art EP, an EP comprising unreleased tracks and remixes from the Invisible Republic sessions. Their third album, Shapeshifting, was produced by Dan Lissvik of the band Studio in Gothenburg, Sweden. The album was released in February 2011 on Paper Bag Records and April 2011 in Europe through the Norwegian label, Smalltown Supersound. ] The album was long-listed for the Polaris Music Prize in 2011 and made it to many year-end lists. Shortly after the release of Shapeshifting, two remix EPs for the singles from that album, 'Cover Your Tracks' and 'We Have Everything', were released and featured remixes from bands and producers who are friends with Young Galaxy. Following that, YOUNG GALAXY 'Versus', another free remix EP was released, which featured Young Galaxy remixing songs of their friends in other bands. Young Galaxy's fourth album, Ultramarine, was released on April 23, 2013. In June 2013, the album was shortlisted for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize. This was their first album in which all lead vocals were performed solely by McCandless. Their fifth album Falsework was released on October 30th, 2015 produced by Dan Lissvik Next up the band are working on their new album ‘Open the World’ with Dan Lissvik once again. The album will be the first self release for the band and it will come out April 6th 2018. // FACTS Young Galaxy have released five studio albums including their self titled debut in 2007 with Arts & Crafts, and ‘Invisible Republic’ (2009), ‘Shapeshifting’(2010), ‘Ultramarine’ (2013) and ‘Falsework’ (2015) on Paper Bag Records worldwide. Small Town Super Sound released ‘Shapeshifting’ in Europe and ‘Plancha’ released Falsework in Japan. Three time Polaris Music Prize Nominee for their album ‘Invisible Republic’ (long list), ‘Shapeshifting’ (long list) and ‘Ultramarine’ (short list). Shapeshifting, Ultramarine and Falsework were all produced by Dan Lissvik (one half of Studio). Favoured by high profile blogs such as Gorilla vs Bear, Stereogum, Paste Magazine, Consequence of Sound, Pitchfork, Prefix, Nylon, 405, Under the Radar, Nosiey and Brooklyn Vegan. Young Galaxy have toured Canada, the United States and Europe several times and opened for the likes of Junior Boys, Austra, Arcade Fire, Death Cab for Cutie, Peter, Bjorn and John and Stars. Previously had sync placements in shows such as Covert Affairs (NBC), Saving Hope (ABC), The L.A. Complex (CW), Awkward (MTV), Pretty Little Liars (ABC), and Orphan Black. Have previously had their tracks remixed by Grimes, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, CFCF, Teen Daze, Dunez, Cotton Mouth, Factory Floor, Peaking Lights and Doldrums. The band has remixed songs by Factory Floor, Austra, Grimes, Junior Boys, Handsome Furs, The Sounds, Freedom or Death, Johan Agebjorn, The Pipettes YOUNG GALAXY Regularly played on taste maker stations such as KEXP, KCRW, KVCO, Daytrotter, and Sirius XM. ‘Pretty Boy’ has (Ultramaine) 3.2 million streams on Spotify, ‘Ready to Shine’ (Falsework) has over 987,000, ‘New Summer’ (Ultramarine) has 850,000

Rickshaw Stop

155 Fell St, San Francisco, CA
powered by Pointslocal. Questions? Email us at