add event
  • Home
  • Quest | Global Sounds on Screen
Feature

Quest | Global Sounds on Screen

July 13, 2017
7:30 pm
Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Quest Screening Room Thu, Jul 13, 7:30PM Sun, Jul 16, 2PM See more at https://ybca.org/whats-on/quest Filmed over a decade with the intimacy of cinema verite, Quest is an epic portrait of a family in north Philadelphia. Christopher "Quest" Rainey, along with his wife Christine'a, aka "Ma Quest," open the door to their home music studio, which serves as a creative sanctuary from the strife that grips their neighborhood. Over the years, the family evolves as everyday life brings a mix of joy and unexpected crisis. Set against the backdrop (roughly mirroring the Obama presidency) of a country now in turmoil, Quest is an overwhelming testament to love, healing, and hope and one of the most important documentaries of the year. (2017, 105 min, digital) Part of: Global Sounds on Screen Jul 6 - Aug 13, 2017 Screening Room Not your typical concert movie series, this is a globe-trotting survey of films on music, struggle, joy, and dissent. From the birth of the blues in West Africa to unexpected techno in Iran, pop idols in Japan, and a pioneering woman in synthesizers, these films offer a broad depiction of music on-screen. Thu, Jul 6, 7:30PM and Sun, Jul 9, 2PM: Mali Blues | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Jul 20, 7:30PM and Sun, Jul 23, 2PM: Eye and Ear Control | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Jul 27, 7:30PM and Sun, Jul 30, 2PM: A Life in Waves | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Aug 3, 7:30PM and Sun, Aug 6, 2PM: Raving Iran | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Aug 10, 7:30PM and Sun, Aug 13, 2PM: Tokyo Idols | Global Sounds on Screen See all of our upcoming films at ybca.org For more info, call 415.978.2787 or visit ybca.org Enjoy FREE same-day gallery admission with all YBCA presented performances & films!

Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

701 Mission St, San Francisco, CA
powered by Pointslocal. Questions? Email us at info@pointslocal.com