add event
  • Home
  • Mali Blues | Global Sounds on Screen
Feature

Mali Blues | Global Sounds on Screen

July 6, 2017
7:30 pm
Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

Mali Blues Screening Room Thu, Jul 6, 7:30PM Sun, Jul 9, 2PM See more at https://ybca.org/whats-on/mali-blues The West African country of Mali is a birthplace of the blues, a musical tradition later carried by the transatlantic slave trade to America's cotton fields. Yet today, the music and musicians of Mali are in grave danger. As fundamentalist Islam and sharia law become more widespread, dance and secular music are prohibited, musical instruments are destroyed, and musicians are forced to flee their homeland. The film follows four artists--Fatoumata "Fatou" Diawara, Bassekou Kouyate, Master Soumy, and Ahmed Ag Kaedi--who are using their music to stand up to extremism and inspire tolerance and peace. (2016, 93 min, digital) Part of: Global Sounds on Screen Jul 6 - Aug 13, 2017 Screening Room Not your typical concert movie series, this is a globe-trotting survey of films on music, struggle, joy, and dissent. From the birth of the blues in West Africa to unexpected techno in Iran, pop idols in Japan, and a pioneering woman in synthesizers, these films offer a broad depiction of music on-screen. Thu, Jul 13, 7:30PM and Sun, Jul 16, 2PM: Quest | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Jul 20, 7:30PM and Sun, Jul 23, 2PM: Eye and Ear Control | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Jul 27, 7:30PM and Sun, Jul 30, 2PM: A Life in Waves | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Aug 3, 7:30PM and Sun, Aug 6, 2PM: Raving Iran | Global Sounds on Screen Thu, Aug 10, 7:30PM and Sun, Aug 13, 2PM: Tokyo Idols | Global Sounds on Screen See all of our upcoming films at ybca.org For more info, call 415.978.2787 or visit ybca.org Enjoy FREE same-day gallery admission with all YBCA presented performances & films!

Yerba Buena Center for the Arts

701 Mission St, San Francisco, CA
powered by Pointslocal. Questions? Email us at info@pointslocal.com